Skip to the content

  • Melbourne
  • Navkarshi
  • Sunset




A motionless state of body, as if the soul has departed from it.
Abandonment of the body, a standing or sitting posture of meditation.
Infinite vision and perception. After acquiring it, the cycle of births and deaths is broken forever. Any soul can attain it, by getting rid of karmas, attachments and hatreds. With it comes kevalgnan, infinite Dhariya, Tapa and Veerya.
One who has kevalgnan.
Infinite knowledge. Knowledge isolated from karmic obstruction. Omniscience. Knowledge involving awareness of every existent in all its qualities and modes.
One who has kevalgnan. Synonym for arhat.
Homages, or salutations.
Forgiving Gurudev.
An area, site or location where humans exist. Each kshetra has four more similar counterparts.
Minor. A junior monk. A Jaina layman on the eleventh pratima. One who wears three pieces of clothing.
A life-long celibate.
(Masters) of the entire universe.
'King, sir'. A title used for sadhus, to indicate respect.
Name of a kshetra. Twenty Tirthankaras currently exist there, deeming it the most sacred kshetra.
Twenth-fourth Tirthankara in this ara of the time cycle. His name means 'The most courageous one.' Mahavir was an actual historical figure who lived some time between 599-527 BCE. He was a contemporary of another great spiritual teacher--Gautama Sakyamuni--who would come to be known in history as Buddha. According to most accounts, Mahavira was also a high-born member of a warrior caste who renounced the world when he was thirty to pursue a life as an ascetic. His moment of enlightenment came after twelve years of spiritual pursuit. He then gathered twelve disciples around him, and it is through these disciples that his teachings were eventually documented and disseminated.
A vow that is much stricter than an Anuvrat. Only those who take diksha will take on these vows (i.e. sadhus and sadhvis). There are five mahavrats- namely ahimsa, anekantvaad, aparigraha, asteya and brahmacharya.
Destroyer of sins. Auspicious.